Sunday, July 01, 2007

Moon & Sun Sabbats

ט"ו בתמוז תשס"ז

There are 8 festival sabbats (distinct from full and new moon esbats) in the witch's wheel of the year - 4 moon sabbats and 4 sun sabbats.

Moon Sabbats

The moon sabbats are called fire festivals, and can occur anywhere between 29-59 days following the preceding solstice or equinox. The 4 moon sabbats are Samhain (Feast of the Dead, Feast of Apples), Imbolg (Feast of Torches, Feast of Waxing Light), Beltane (Bonfire of Light, Celtic Lag B'Omer, Cetsamhain-opposite Samhain), and Lughnasadh (Feast of Bread, Lammas).

Sun Sabbats

The sun sabbats refer to the quarter days (solstices and equinoxes), and are based on the astronomical position of the sun. The 4 sun sabbats are Mabon (autumn equinox), Yule (winter solstice), Ostara (spring equinox), and Litha (summer solstice).

No comments: