Sunday, July 29, 2007

Chicory Root Mugwort Tea

י"ד באב תשס"ז

I've introduced myself to the new magical pleasure of organic chicory root and mugwort tea.

Chicory is a masculine herbal, with magical correspondences to the Sun (space) and air (element). It's magical properties include removing all obstacles which may arise, purification and opening up locked places. It's health benefits include hormonal balance, lowering cholesterol, reducing the pulse rate, aiding in the absorption of calcium, promoting a healthy digestive tract, and lowering the risk of colon cancer.

Mugwort is a feminine herbal, with magical correspondences to Venus (space) and earth (element). It's magical properties include providing strength and protection, increasing psychic awareness, healing and promoting prophetic dreaming. It's health benefits include promoting a healthy digestive tract, anti-depressant properties, and anti-anxiety properties.

To prepare chicory root mugwort tea, simmer 1 Tbsp dried chicory root and 1/2 tsp of mugwort for every cup of water. Strain after simmering for 20 minutes.

Monday, July 23, 2007

It's Here!

ח' באב תשס"ז

I've been waiting since March and it arrived today! My new exquisitely handcrafted Book of Shadows is here! It's gorgeous! I'm Happy! Happy! Happy! I feel like dancing in the moonlight and cackling like a crazy woman I'm so happy!

Sunday, July 01, 2007

Moon & Sun Sabbats

ט"ו בתמוז תשס"ז

There are 8 festival sabbats (distinct from full and new moon esbats) in the witch's wheel of the year - 4 moon sabbats and 4 sun sabbats.

Moon Sabbats

The moon sabbats are called fire festivals, and can occur anywhere between 29-59 days following the preceding solstice or equinox. The 4 moon sabbats are Samhain (Feast of the Dead, Feast of Apples), Imbolg (Feast of Torches, Feast of Waxing Light), Beltane (Bonfire of Light, Celtic Lag B'Omer, Cetsamhain-opposite Samhain), and Lughnasadh (Feast of Bread, Lammas).

Sun Sabbats

The sun sabbats refer to the quarter days (solstices and equinoxes), and are based on the astronomical position of the sun. The 4 sun sabbats are Mabon (autumn equinox), Yule (winter solstice), Ostara (spring equinox), and Litha (summer solstice).